Exam form photo and signature sizes
Every notice sets its own limits, and they differ more than people expect. Here are the ones this site's presets are copied from, side by side, with where each came from — and what to do when your form is not among them.
The limits, from the notices
Pixel sizes are given only where the notice states one; “not stated” means the notice gives a kilobyte range and a format but no pixel size, and the preset uses a default of this site’s own that you can change. One row comes from a secondary summary, not the issuing body, and is marked so.
| Notice | Photo | Signature | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank recruitment, IBPS pattern (as in the IPPB notice, Nov 2025) | 200 × 230 px 20–50 KB | 140 × 60 px 10–20 KB | India Post Payments Bank — Detailed Guidelines/Procedures for Online Application, 18 Oct 2026 |
| ICAI examination forms | not stated 1–50 KB | not stated 1–50 KB | ICAI examination portal — image size page, 18 Oct 2026 |
| Square 350–1000 px pattern (as in the Raj Bhavan Assam scheme, Annexure 2) | not stated 20–300 KB | not stated 20–300 KB | Raj Bhavan Assam — Annexure 2, 18 Oct 2026 |
| NTA NEET (UG) | not stated 10–200 KB | not stated 4–30 KB | Careers360 summary of the NTA information bulletin (Feb 2026), 18 Oct 2026Secondary source — confirm on the official portal. |
Reading a notice for the three numbers that matter
A portal checks the pixel size, the file type and the weight before anyone looks at the picture. Find all three in your notice before you start. A pixel size is sometimes given in centimetres instead — the IPPB notice gives 4.5 × 3.5 cm for the photo as well as 200 × 230 pixels — and where only centimetres are given, the pixel size depends on the scanning resolution the notice names (at 200 DPI, 3.5 cm is about 276 pixels). The kilobyte range is the one people miss: a minimum as well as a maximum, so a plain photo saved too small fails as surely as a large one.
Kilobytes are counted two ways
Some systems count a kilobyte as 1,000 bytes, others as 1,024, and notices rarely say which. A 50 KB limit is therefore 50,000 or 51,200 bytes. The safe aim is under the smaller reading of the maximum and over the larger reading of the minimum — for a 20–50 KB range, between 20,480 and 50,000 bytes. The photo and signature tool on this site aims for exactly that window and shows the byte count.
What these presets do not cover
Several notices ask for more than a photo and a signature: a left thumb impression, a handwritten declaration, a postcard-size photo. Those have their own sizes, given in the notice, and are uploaded separately. Notices also change between recruitment cycles, so a preset is a starting point and the current notice is the authority.
Copied from published notices on the dates shown; not instructions from any authority. Check the current notice for your form before uploading. If your form is not listed, the Custom preset takes any pixel size and kilobyte range.
Make the files
The tool that makes these files is merge photo and signature; every preset in the table is one of its choices.


